The “R” Factor

Agree/DisagreeI have to condemn the actions of a small minority of hotheads in DC this weekend. Apparently the crowds have gotten ugly, and that just isn’t acceptable.

When Rep. Andre Carson (D-IN) and Rep. John Lewis (D-GA, and Civil Rights leader in the 1960s) were leaving the Cannon House Office Building Saturday, the crowd is said to have chanted the ‘N-word’. Rep. Emanuel Cleaver (D-MO) was spit on. Someone screamed the ‘F-word’ at Rep. Barney Frank (referencing his sexual orientation). Rep. Frank said:

“It’s just disappointing … John Lewis said he felt like it was 50 years ago … I walked from the Longworth building to the Rayburn building … people started shouting and saying abusive things, and I just kept walking …

The Republican leadership is making a mistake not doing more to disassociate from this … It’s a mob mentality that doesn’t work politically …

The only problem I have with this … They all said ‘You should quit. You should quit. We’re going to defeat you.’ At some point … I’d like to retire. As long as I think it might make some of those people happy, I can never retire. I may have to work forever as long as they’re out there.”

Well, those people aren’t representative of Conservatives. Who opposed civil rights in the 1960s? That’s right: liberals democrats. If anything, Conservatives are some of the best when it comes to race relations and civil rights. They are, after all, the ones who are trying to keep Obama from oppressing you with health insurance. But here’s a sound clip from The Radio Factor (edited for time) which makes my point as clear as day:

“Black people in this country understand that they’ve had a very, very tough go of it, and some of them can get past that, and some of them cannot … So you’ve got to accept that as being the truth. People deal with that stuff in a variety of ways. Some get bitter. Some say, [unintelligible] “You call me that, I’m gonna be more successful.” OK, it depends on the personality … I think black Americans are starting to think more and more for themselves. And they’re getting away from the Sharptons and the Jacksons and the people trying to lead them into a race-based culture. They’re just trying to figure it out: “Look, I can make it. If I work hard and get educated, I can make it.”

You know, I was up in Harlem a few weeks ago, and I actually had dinner with Al Sharpton, who is a very, very interesting guy. And he comes on The Factor a lot, and then I treated him to dinner … We went to Sylvia’s, a very famous restaurant in Harlem. I had a great time, and all the people up there — tremendously respectful. They all watch The Factor. You know, when Sharpton and I walked in, it was like, big commotion and everything, but everybody was very nice.

And I couldn’t get over the fact that there was no difference between Sylvia’s restaurant and any other restaurant in New York City. I mean, it was exactly the same, even though it’s run by blacks, primarily black patronship … You know, this is what white America doesn’t know, particularly people who don’t have a lot of interaction with black Americans. They think that the culture is dominated by Twista, Ludacris, and Snoop Dogg …There wasn’t one person in Sylvia’s who was screaming, “M-Fer, I want more iced tea.” … It was like going into an Italian restaurant in an all-white suburb in the sense of people were sitting there, and they were ordering and having fun. And there wasn’t any kind of craziness at all.”

Comments
One Response to “The “R” Factor”
  1. noh8 says:

    Wrong on so many levels.

Leave a Reply

