Transitivity of Oaths

EmailHere’s an email from the latest little bird crying out for the regurgitated worms of truth:

“Why the new oath for Oath Keepers? The military oath has served us well for years and years. The only reason to change it is to remove the requirement to obey any legal order given by your superiors. This changes the military from a unified whole into a group of hundreds of thousands of amateur Constitutional scholars, each poring over every order to see whether it meets their own personal definition of Constitutional before they decide whether they’ll obey it.”

Look, the revision of the oath is really just a clarification of the oath. Look at the military oath again:

I, (NAME), do solemnly swear (or affirm) that I will support and defend the Constitution of the United States against all enemies, foreign and domestic; that I will bear true faith and allegiance to the same; and that I will obey the orders of the President of the United States and the orders of the officers appointed over me, according to regulations and the Uniform Code of Military Justice. So help me God.

And now the Presidential Oath of Office:

I do solemnly swear (or affirm) that I will faithfully execute the Office of President of the United States, and will to the best of my ability, preserve, protect and defend the Constitution of the United States.

If the military oath requires you to obey your superior officers, who are in turn required to obey the President, who is likewise required to obey the Constitution, then it’s simple. If you apply the Law of Transitivity of Oaths you get the Oath Keeper’s oath:

I, (NAME), do solemnly swear that I will support and defend the Constitution of the United States of America, against all enemies, foreign and domestic, that I will bear true faith and allegiance to the same, and that I take this obligation freely, without any mental reservation or purpose of evasion, pledging my life, my fortune, and my sacred honor. So help me, God.

Done. I don’t see what the issue is. Every system is more streamlined when you cut out the middleman, and that’s all that’s happening here.

Leave a Reply

