Update: Free Speech Wins!

The Center for Public Integrity has warned that the recent Supreme Court decision (Citizens United v. Federal Election Commission) may allow foreign governments to spend as much as they want on advertisements for or against candidates in the greatest country in the world, the United States of America. They are afraid that this could let a foreign company have a great influence on our elections. I say, bring ’em on.

As I said before, this SCOTUS decision is a great step forward in the field of corporate civil rights, and the American people are too smart to be swayed by simple advertisements. No harm, no foul. We can’t let fear-mongers restrict the political free speech of a corporation just because it is owned by Hugo Chavez.

I say let Chavez spend as much as he wants in the next election. The American people will see through his lies, and if anything it will hurt his cause. A lot of people think that advertisements are persuasive, but if that’s true, why don’t I buy everything I see advertised? That’s Occam’s Razor, folks: “If it’s the simplest explanation, then it’s true.”

Anyway, just wanted to post a quick update to address this new scare tactic, but I’ve got to go now. I haven’t had lunch yet, so I’m going to run by McDonalds and get that new Big Mac wrap. I’m lovin’ it!

Comments
7 Responses to “Update: Free Speech Wins!”
  1. It is really a nice and helpful piece of information.
    I’m glad that you simply shared this helpful info with us. Please keep us up to date like this. Thank you for sharing.

  2. Lanora says:

    Your way of describing everything in this paragraph is
    genuinely fastidious, every one be capable of without difficulty be aware of it,
    Thanks a lot.

  3. Good replies in return of this question with firm
    arguments and explaining the whole thing about that.

  4. Do you mind if I quote a few of your posts as long as
    I provide credit and sources back to your site? My blog site
    is in the exact same niche as yours and my users would certainly benefit from a lot of the information you provide here.
    Please let me know if this ok with you. Thanks a lot!

  5. Rosella says:

    Hello there! This is my first comment here so I just wanted to give a quick shout out and tell
    you I genuinely enjoy reading through your articles.
    Can you recommend any other blogs/websites/forums that deal with the same subjects?
    Thanks a lot!

  6. Harriet says:

    Admiring the persistence you put into your website and
    in depth information you provide. It’s great to come across a blog
    every once in a while that isn’t the same unwanted rehashed material.
    Wonderful read! I’ve saved your site and I’m adding your RSS feeds to my Google account.

  7. Alva says:

    I’ve been browsing online more than 4 hours today, yet I never found any interesting article like yours.
    It is pretty worth enough for me. In my view, if all web
    owners and bloggers made good content as you did, the net will be a lot more useful than ever
    before.

Leave a Reply

